# Fall 2021 Business Meeting

November 11, 2021 | Jung Hotel

Teresa Clark called the business meeting to order at 4:08.

### Past President (Rachelle Miller)

- Presented the pre-conference nominations (listed in *The Researcher*) who were eligible to be on the ballot: Sherry Shaw for Vice President/President-Elect, Mindy Waldrop for University Student Director, Aarek Farmer for At-Large Representative, Jessica Herring-Watson for At-Large Representative, and Randal Wilson for At-Large Representative.
  - On a motion by Tina Allen and a second by Minadene Waldrop, the slate of nominees was accepted.
- Opened the floor for additional nominations:
  - On a motion by Charles Notar and a second by Jane Nell Luster, nominations for Vice President/President-Elect were closed.
  - On a motion by Tina Allen and a second by Amanda Mayeaux, nominations for University Student Director were closed.
  - Nominations for SDE/LEA Representative:
    - Kathy Campbell nominated Lisette Manuel (Livingston Parish Schools).
    - Charles Notar nominated Claudia Crespo (Little Rock School District).
    - On a motion by Larry Daniel and a second by Bobby Franklin, nominations for SDE/LEA Representative were closed.
  - Nominations for At-Large Director:
    - Franz Raneau nominated Joseph Akpan (Jacksonville State University).
    - Shannon Chaisson nominated Rebecca Robichaux-Davis (Mississippi State University).
    - Shannon Chaisson nominated Charles Notar (Retired).
    - On a motion by Kathy Campbell and a second by Amanda Mayeaux, nominations for At-Large Director were closed.

### **Executive Director (Randy Parker)**

- Randy covered the financial report and acknowledged the five institutional memberships and the exhibitor; explained costs that were higher than expected or usual (e.g., catering, new MSERA banner).
- Expected to end the year with around a \$1,900 balance.

### MSER Foundation Report (Ava Pugh)

- Ava provided an overview of MSERF and introduced members.
- Kathy Campbell presented checks to RIP recipients.

### Awards

- Herbert M. Handley Outstanding Dissertation Award: Lisette Manuel
- James E. McClean Distinguished Paper Award: Jessica Herring Watson, Nykela Jackson, & Chelsie Dubay
- Harry L. Bowman Service Award: Mindy Crain-Dorough
- Walter M. Mathews Historical Contribution Award: Ava Pugh

# **President (Teresa Clark)**

- Acknowledged committee chairs and members, directors, and executive committee for their service.
- Constitutional change to Article II, Section 3e: Delete "secretary shall submit the official membership roster to the historian upon the conclusion of the association's business year"
  - On a motion by Jane Nell Luster and a second by Rachelle Miller, the change was unanimously approved by the membership.
- There was no new business from the floor.
- Teresa encouraged members to attend the 2022 meeting in Little Rock to celebrate the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary (November 8-11, 2022).
- George Noflin reminded attendees to complete the annual meeting evaluation.
- Door prizes were drawn and veterans were acknowledged.
- Election results were announced, and the following officers were sworn in:
  - Sherry Shaw as Vice President/President-Elect
  - Mindy Waldrop as University Student Director
  - Aarek Farmer as At-Large Representative
  - Jessica Herring-Watson as At-Large Representative
  - Randal Wilson as At-Large Representative
  - Rebecca Robichaux-Davis as At-Large Representative
  - Lisette Manuel as SDE/LEA Representative
- Randy Parker acknowledged Teresa's service as president.
- Teresa passed the gavel to Michael Mills who then made comments to the membership.

Michael Mills adjourned the business meeting at 5:43.