MSERA Annual Business Meeting

November 10, 2022 Embassy Suites | Little Rock, AR

Michael Mills called the meeting to order at 4:03.

On a motion by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and a second by Jane Nell Luster, the membership unanimously approved the 2021 business meeting minutes.

Nominations (Rachelle Miller, serving as proxy for Teresa Clark)

- Pre-meeting nominations were as follows:
 - o Vice President/President-Elect: Tina Allen & George Noflin
 - o Secretary: Adam Elder & Sunny Styles Foster
 - o University Student Representative: Reglena Salmons; declined her nomination
 - o Alabama Director: Charles Notar
 - o Arkansas Director: Louis Nadelson
 - o Florida Director: Mark Halley
 - o Kentucky Director: Teresa Clark
 - o Louisiana Director: Dustin Whitlock & Ashley Wicker
 - Mississippi Director: Sarah Parker
- On a motion by Amanda Mayeaux and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, the above nominees were accepted.
- On a motion by Larry Daniel and a second by Charles Notar, nominations from the floor for Vice President/President-Elect were closed.
- On a motion by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and a second by Dustin Hebert, nominations from the floor for Secretary were closed.
- Jane Nell Luster nominated Mindy Waldrop for University Student Representative. Mindy accepted the nomination.
 - o On a motion by Kathy Campbell and a second by Jessica Herring-Watson, nominations from the floor for University Student Representative were closed.
- On a motion by Kelly Byrd and a second by Jane Nell Luster, nominations from the floor for Alabama Director were closed.
- On a motion by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and a second by Jessica Herring-Watson, nominations from the floor for Arkansas Director were closed.
- On a motion by Jessica Herring-Watson and a second by John Pecore, nominations from the floor for Florida Director were closed.
- On a motion by Dustin Hebert and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, nominations from the floor for Kentucky Director were closed.
- On a motion by Dustin Hebert and a second by Jane Nell Luster, nominations from the floor for Louisiana Director were closed.
- On a motion by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and a second by Dustin Hebert, nominations from the floor for Mississippi Director were closed.
- Eric Oslund nominated Donald Snead for Tennessee Director. Donald accepted the nomination.
 - On a motion by Larry Daniel and a second by Jessica Herring-Watson, nominations from the floor for Tennessee Director were closed.

• General and state ballots were distributed for voting and collected for tabulation.

Executive Director's Report (Randy Parker)

- Randy welcomed everyone to the business meeting.
- He summarized the financial report. There was \$46,210 income to date, \$45,300 in expenditures, and \$4,000 in registration fees that are expected. There is an additional \$700 of expected expenses before end of year, putting the expected balance at \$4,210 at the end of the year.
- There were no questions about the financial report from the floor.

MSER Foundation Report (Rebecca Robichaux-Davis)

- Rebecca summarized the role of the Foundation and its work.
- Larry Daniel was elected as president of the MSERF to replace Ava Pugh.
- The MSERF is financially sound.

Research-in-Progress Awards (Rebecca Robichaux-Davis)

 Winners present to accept their awards were: Tina Garrett, Nathan Hite, Bob Jordan, Angela Kuykendoll, Bethany LaValley, Jessica Lemoine, Keila Moreno Mugabo, Sabrina Stanley, & Tanya Wasmer

Awards (Sherry Shaw & Michael Mills)

- Herbert M. Handley Outstanding Dissertation Award: Kimberly Rogers-Davis, Louisiana State University
- James E. McClean Distinguished Research Paper Award: Donna Spencer-Pitts, Athens State University
 - o Sherry accepted the award on Donna's behalf.
- Attendeees were encouraged to attend the paper presentation at 9:00 on Friday.
- Harry L. Bowman Service Award: Rebecca Robichaux-Davis
- Walter M. Mathews Historical Contribution Award: Franz Reneau

New Business (Michael Mills)

- Michael overviewed the proposed change to the Bylaws Article II, Sections 3, 7, & 8:
 - o Article II, Section 3: Delete items (d) and (e).
 - o **Article II, Section 7.a.:** Change the following:
 - Add "e. The Executive Director shall maintain the membership roster for the current year and provide such information to any authorized users upon request."
 - Add "f. The Executive Director shall routinely upload to the cloud storage repository of the Association the membership list one week prior to the Spring and Fall meetings of the Board of the Association."
 - Due to new additions:
 - Change "e. The Executive Director, who shall be bonded, …" to "g. The Executive Director, who shall be bonded, …"
 - Change "f. At the conclusion of the first and third ..." to "h. At the conclusion of the first and third ..."

- Change "g. The Executive Director shall be evaluated ..." to "i. The Executive Director shall be evaluated ..."
- Change "h. The Executive Director shall be responsible for ..." to "j. The Executive Director shall be responsible for ..."
- o Article II, Section 8.a.: Change the following:
 - Add "/cloud-based" after "electronic" in the first sentence.
 - Delete item (b).
 - Due to the deletion:
 - Change "c. The Historian shall coordinate the creation ..." to "b. The Historian shall coordinate the creation ..."
 - Change "d. The Historian shall be responsible for annually ..." to "c. The Historian shall be responsible for annually ..."
- On a motion by Charles Notar and a second by Jane Nell Luster, the membership unanimously approved the changes to the bylaws.

President's Report (Michael Mills)

- Michael recognized elected board members and the program chairs, and Randy distributed plaques.
- Michael recognized board committee chairs.
- George Noflin reminded everyone to complete evaluations for sessions and for the overall conference.
- Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and Kelly Byrd presented prizes to the winners of the 50th Anniversary puzzles and the business meeting door prizes.
- Michael presented the election winners:
 - o Alabama Director: Charlie Notar
 - Arkansas Director: Louis Nadelson
 - o Florida Director: Mark Halley
 - o Kentucky Director: Teresa Clark
 - o Louisiana Director: Ashley Wicker
 - Mississippi Director: Sarah Parker
 - o Tennessee Director: Donald Snead
 - o University Student Representative: Mindy Waldrop
 - o Secretary: Adam Elder
 - O Vice President/President-Elect: George Noeflin
- Randy swore in the newly elected officers.
- Randy presented a commemorative gavel to Michael.
- Michael passed the gavel to Sherry, and then she shared her thoughts for the organization.

On a motion by Dustin Hebert and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, the meeting was adjourned.