Fall Business Meeting November 7, 2019 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

- The 2019 Fall Business meeting was opened by MSERA President, Mindy Crain-Dorough at 4:03 pm on November 7, 2019.
- MSERA Secretary, Natasha Gerstenschlager, presented the minutes from the 2018 Fall Business Meeting. On a motion by Jane Nell Luster and a second by Suzanne Franco, the minutes were approved unanimously.

Executive Director's Report (Randy Parker)

- Randy thanked Ben Littlepage for his help and then shared the budget from the 2019 meeting and described all expenditures.
- Revenue \$41,942.92
- Expenses \$39,479.00
- Expected balance \$2,463.92

Change to Constitution and By-Laws (Gail Hughes, Chair)

- Gail shared changes that were made. This change states that the executive director should have books verified by an outside person in their second year and then provide that to the board immediately upon receiving it.
- On a motion by Eric Oslund and second by Adam Elder, the membership approved the changes unanimously.

Elections (Past-President, Rebecca Robichaux-Davis)

- Rebecca shared the nominations for open positions and asked for any from the floor.
- On a motion by George Noflin and a second by Landon Clark, the membership moved to close the nominations.

Foundation Report (President MSER Foundation, Ava Pugh)

- Shared history and purpose of foundation.
- Introduced two new members Kelly Byrd and Teresa Clark.
- Explained changes to bylaws made.
- Shared \$50 for 50 idea to commemorate anniversary year.
- Asked for ideas for additional ideas for how to celebrate (send to Randy Parker).

Presentation of 2019 Research in Progress Awards (MSER Foundation, Ava Pugh & Kathy Campbell)

- Kathy Campbell shared the RIP awardees:
 - Bingshi Zhang- MTSU
 - Constant Mucika LSU
 - o Elizabeth Murray Univ. of Alabama
 - Jasmine Jackson MTSU
 - o John Walker Univ. of Alabama
 - Julie Workman Univ. of Arkansas

- Kasey Warren Union University
- o Kayla Allain LSU
- Molly Risley MTSU
- Nicole Crouch MTSU
- Ping Wang MTSU
- o Raeshan Davis LSU
- Susan Thorne MTSU

Presentation of 2019 Herbert M. Handley Outstanding Thesis/Dissertation Award (MSERA President-Elect, Rachelle Miller)

• R. Stacy Fields - MTSU

Presentation of 2019 James E. McLean Distinguished Paper Award (MSERA President-Elect, Rachelle Miller)

• Lauren McNeill, Margaret Rice, and Vivian Wright – Univ. of Alabama

2019 Harry Bowman Service Award (Mindy Crain-Dorough, President & Jane Nell Luster, Historian)

• Awarded to Kathy Campbell

2019 Walter M. Mathews Historical Contribution Award (Mindy Crain-Dorough, President & Walt Mathews)

Awarded to Suzanne Franco

Recognition of MSERA Leadership Team (Mindy Crain-Dorough, President)

• Mindy recognized all committee chairs and members and shared a reminder that we are looking for editors for RITS and *The Researcher*.

Announcement of Future Annual Meetings (Rachelle Miller, President-Elect)

2020 Annual Meeting in Little Rock at Embassy Suites from Oct 27 – 30

Election Results (Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Past-President)

- Vice president/president elect Teresa Clark
- At-large director Tina Allen, Sandra Lampley, Charles Notar, and Minadene Waldrop
- SEA/LEA director Shannon Chiasson
- University Student Director Julie Workman (University of Arkansas)

Installation of New Officers (Mindy Crain-Dorough, President) Passing of the Gavel from Mindy Crain-Dorough to Rachelle Miller

Acceptance Speech and Adjournment (Rachelle Miller)

On a motion to adjourn by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and second by Charlie Notar, membership moved to adjourn.