MSERA Annual Business Meeting

November 9, 2023 Hilton | Pensacola Beach, FL

Sherry Shaw called the meeting to order at 4:02.

Approval of 2022 Minutes (Sherry Shaw)

- Sherry asked everyone to review the 2022 business meeting minutes (scanned via QR code).
- On a motion by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis and a second by Kelly Byrd, the membership unanimously approved the 2022 business meeting minutes.

Nominations (Michael Mills)

- Sherry thanked Michael for his work procuring nominations.
- Michael explained that the ballots will be cast electronically this year using customized QR codes with paper ballot backups.
- Michael introduced the pre-meeting nominations, who were as follows:
 - O Vice President/President-Elect: Stefanie Sorbet
 - Director At-Large: Mary Giles, Brian Hibbs (not present), Tony Latiker, Jane Nell Luster, Jamie Gilbert Mikell (not present), Sarah Ramaiah (not present), Rod Uzat, Mindy Waldrop, & Dustin Whitlock
 - LEA/SEA Director: Kasey Warren
 - o University Student Representative: Rochelle Felix & LoRen Modisa
- On a motion by Ashley Wicker and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, the above nominees were accepted.
- On a motion by Larry Daniel and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, nominations from the floor for Vice President/President-Elect were closed.
- On a motion by Larry Daniel and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, nominations from the floor for Director At-Large were closed.
- On a motion by Gail Hughes and a second by Randy Parker, nominations from the floor for LEA/SEA Director were closed.
- On a motion by Kelly Byrd and a second by Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, nominations from the floor for University Student Representative were closed.
- Michael gave directions for voting with digital ballots, and the election took place.

Executive Director's Report (Randy Parker)

- Sherry introduced Randy and informed the membership that he was reappointed for another three-year term.
- Randy welcomed everyone to the business meeting.
- He summarized the financial report. There was \$42,398.68 income to date, \$39,204.15 in expenditures, and \$1,900 in on-site registration fees that are expected. The expected end-of-year balance is \$5,044.53.
- On motion by Jane Nell Luster and a second by Tina Allen, the financial report was accepted.

MSER Foundation Report (Larry Daniel)

- Larry summarized the role of the Foundation and its work throughout the year, including the election of five new officers and the adoption of updated bylaws.
- Rebecca Robichaux-Davis shared that the balance of the checking account was \$8,165.63, and there was \$24,847.16 in trust in a money market account.

Research-in-Progress Awards (Larry Daniel)

- Larry explained the research-in-progress awards and acknowledged Kathy Campbell's coordination of the monetary awards. Kathy presented the winners with their checks.
- Winners present to accept their awards were:
 - o James Barbee, Union University (Jackson, TN)
 - o Dana Barchak, University of Memphis
 - o Claudia Bawole, University of Alabama
 - o Patricia Gordon, Louisiana Tech
 - o LoRen Modisa, University of South Alabama
 - o Camryn O'Conner, Arkansas State University
 - o Pamela Shewalter, Middle Tennessee State University
 - o Jill Westerlund, University of Alabama

Awards (George Noflin & Sherry Shaw)

- George announced the winners of the awards, who were as follows:
 - Herbert M. Handley Outstanding Dissertation Award: Courtney Jarrell, Louisiana Tech University
 - James E. McClean Distinguished Research Paper Award: Kate Barnes & Sarah McKenzie, University of Arkansas
 - o Harry L. Bowman Service Award: Rachelle Miller
 - Michael Mills accepted the award on her behalf.
 - o Walter M. Mathews Historical Contribution Award: Tina Allen
- Attendees were encouraged to attend the paper presentation at 9:00 on Friday.

Constitution & Bylaws (Rod Uzat)

Rod shared that the constitution and bylaws committee will act on the recommendations
of the executive director and executive committee based on the results of the CPA
review.

President's Report (Sherry Shaw)

- Sherry recognized board committee chairs.
- Sherry recognized elected board members and the program chairs. They were asked to stay after the meeting so Randy could distribute plaques and take a picture.
- Sherry presented the election winners:
 - O Vice President/President-Elect: Stefanie Sorbet
 - Directors At-Large: Mary Giles, Tony Latiker, Jane Nell Luster, & Mindy Waldrop
 - o SEA/LEA Director: Kasey Warren
 - o University Student Director: Rochelle Felix
- Randy swore in the newly elected officers.
- Sherry shared a summary of the activities of the board over the past year.

- Randy presented a token of appreciation to Sherry.
- Sherry passed the gavel to George, who then shared some initial thoughts for the organization in the next year.

On a motion by Ashley Wicker and a second by Michael Mills, the meeting was adjourned.

