top of page

Harry Bowman Service Award

The Harry Bowman Service Award was created in 1992 to honor Harry Bowman, who served MSERA meritoriously.  The intent of this service award is to recognize someone for ongoing service to MSERA over a period of years.


This award may be presented to any MSERA member who has rendered meritorious service to the association over a period of years.


The service rendered may be as an officer and/or as a non-officer member who has served the organization continuously in significant ways over a period of years.

The basis for selection to receive this award will be stated when the award is announced and in any other forums where presentation of this award is reported.

Selection Procedures

Nominations are solicited by announcements in The Researcher (May issue) and on the MSERA website. Nominations are sent to the current President of MSERA or designee.  Upon receipt of the nominations, the President or designated chair reviews the list of previous awardees to retain only names of those who have not previously been given this award.


The selection committee for this award is the MSERA Executive Committee. Each member is asked to rank the nominees. Rankings from each committee member are reversed to give the first ranked nominee the highest points; the lowest ranked the least points. The nominee with the greatest cumulative points is selected. In the event of a tie, the names of those tied are sent back to the committee and the process continues.  

The Award

The award is made at the annual business meeting of MSERA in November with the recipient honored with a plaque. 

Past recipients of the Bowman Service Award 

2023    Rachelle Miller, University of Central Arkansas

2022    Rebecca Robichaux-Davis, Mississippi State University 

2021    Mindy Crain-Dorough, Southeastern Louisiana University

2020    Dustin Hebert, Louisiana Tech University

2019    Kathleen Campbell, Southeastern Louisiana University

2018    Patrick Kariuki, Milligan College

2017    Julie Holmes, Louisiana Tech University

2016    Gail Hughes, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

2015    Jane Nell Luster, LSUHC-HDC (Retired)

2014    Randy Parker, Louisiana Tech University

2013    Gahan Bailey, University of South Alabama

2011     Ava Pugh, University of Louisiana at Monroe

2010     William Spencer, Auburn University 

2009     Walter Mathews, Evaluation Associates of New York 

2008     Lynn Howerton, Mary Jane Bradley, Nola Christenberry; Arkansas State University 

2007    Carolyn Reeves Kazelskis and Richard Kazelskis, University of Southern Mississippi (Retired)

2006    Linda Morse, Mississippi State University 

2005    Rob Kennedy, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences 

2004    Qaisar Sultana, Eastern Kentucky University 

2003    Carl Martray, Mercer University 

2002    Cliff Hofwolt, Vanderbilt University 

2001    Robert Rasmussen, LSU System 

2000    Ron Adams, Western Kentucky University 

1999    Neil Amos, Mississippi State University 

1998    David Morse, Mississippi State University 

1997    Gerald and Glennelle Halpin (joint award), Auburn University 

1995    James E. McLean, University of Alabama-Birmingham 

1994    John R. Petry, University of Memphis 

1993    Judith A. Boser, University of Tennessee-Knoxville 

1992    Harry L. Bowman, Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 

bottom of page